Momma, I need a buddy.

DSC_0598

We recently relocated our family for a new life and better opportunities. Everything is great and we all like it here. The weather is amazing, we are close to beaches, the town center, the library, and all of the things I thought would make finding mommy groups and friends for the family through community family functions a breeze. I was wrong. I didn’t at all take into consideration the cultural differences that make this community difficult to break into.

I really had in my head that the youngest of our tribe, who is not yet in school, would have the easiest time transitioning. He doesn’t have to deal with a new school, as school in general will be new to him soon. He doesn’t have to get used to a new schedule, he doesn’t have that much change in routine and he is still always with momma. It turns out, the way that his transition is similar to mine is the most heartbreaking and it has totally caught me off guard. Going to the beach, playground, library, and other kids activities is not making him quick buddies, no one is used to him and he is not used to anyone else. I don’t yet have our mommy group established  so we are alone. No buddies for either one of us and I realized the hard way that he is as lonely as am I. It certainly is not the end of the world or something unfixable, it will just take more time, more effort, and more planning than it did last time.

In our old city it was so easy to find my group, to go mommy stalking and build our tribe. It all seemed to just fall into my lap and I took it for granted. Now is different and that’s OK. We will find our group and we will find our special buddies. If that’s the biggest of our problems right now…… I will take it. Challenge accepted! 

Buddy

5 thoughts on “Momma, I need a buddy.

Leave a Reply

